Hello and Goodbye Parts Car – 1971 Mercedes Benz 220D

1971 Mercedes Benz 220D

My recently acquired 1970 Mercedes Benz 220D would likely not have been economically reasonable to fix up if I didn’t have a cheap parts car to pull from. The missing and broken items list added up to well over the cost of the car if I was to source all the bits new or even used. Luckily for a little extra I was able to also buy a parts which is able to provide a good number of the needed items as well as building a spare parts supply.

1971 Mercedes Benz 220D rear

The parts car is a 1971 Mercedes Benz 220D with the same diesel engine and four speed manual gearbox. From the outside it looked more solid than my blue 1970 but the underside was quite soft and rusty. Luckily for me the front fenders had been replaced at some point (see the lack of side reflectors) so the much needed driver’s side fender could be transferred over with only a little patching.

1971 Mercedes Benz 220D dash

The interior was a bit more ratty as well. The gearshift lever was nicely intact however.

1971 Mercedes Benz 220D rear seat

Check out this funky green rear seat cover. It ripped coming off but I didn’t plan to re-use it anyway. The seat was brown underneath and had a few more rips than the seat in the blue car.

A tale of two grills

The grill on the left was on the 1970 blue car. It is incorrect for the year and seems to have been fitted at a later date. The surround is metal but the grill is plastic. The one on the right is off the 1971 parts car and is all metal. Oddly I fit it to the 1970 car but now the grill doesn’t clear the bumper and thus the hood doesn’t close fully. The bumpers look the same but I think I will try swapping them to see if it resolves the issue.

1971 Mercedes Benz 220D rear suspension

No holes under there but it was all a bit soft. The trunk had been extensively repaired with fiberglass patch panels.

Heater fan!

The very expensive to replace heater fan. Initially this wasn’t working on the blue but now is. I sure hope I don’t have to use it as you need to disassemble a good portion of the dash to get to it.

Front fender off

Shocks, fender, hood, etc gone.

goodbye

I had a week to strip it and was able to get all the important bits. Plus now I have a second set of good tires and rims as bonus. You might wonder why I didn’t grab the doors too. Well my doors are in good shape and they take a lot of space to store. That combined with no interest in my ad for parts locally I left on the not easy to ship doors.

This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hello and Goodbye Parts Car – 1971 Mercedes Benz 220D

  1. moparshat says:

    Too bad you don’t have the space to store these old treasures out in the back 40. The joys of living in cookie cutter neighbourhoods where everybody has to be like everybody else.
    Moved to the country 22 years ago to escape all that BS.
    So now begins the labour of love and hope you don’t get mired too deep into the never ending morass of old car ownership.
    Best of luck with the wheels.

    • oldcarjunkie says:

      It would have been nice to keep the skeleton but I just don’t have the space. Hopefully it didn’t miss anything that I’ll need later.

Leave a Reply

