Austin Atlantic A90 and Lada Sagona on Kijiji

I don’t really know why but I quite like the Austin Atlantic A90. The styling is … perhaps a little over the top. I came across this 1947 example on Kijiji. I remember maybe seven or eight years ago another rough one in the exact same colour was for sale. Quite likely the same car but who knows. This one is listed as a 1947 model. I do like how the interior is coloured coded to the exterior. Looks like quite an extensive project but the missing engine bits referenced by the seller are probably one of the easier things to find as the A90 donated its engine to the early Austin Healey roadsters.

original ad

Fixed up the same year and make went for $80,000 on Barrett Jackson…No registration and missing a crap load of engine parts. First come first served. Sacrificing

Another interesting one I came across is this 1993 Lada Sagona sedan. The Sagona is less often seen than its sibling the Samara hatchback. Even the Samara is rare these days and I usually only see them in the scrapyard. The owner makes a common mistake in calling it the Samara but looks in good shape from the one picture provided. Sadly the fact that it needs an out of province inspection probably dooms this one. The Samara/Sagona was front wheel drive unlike the earlier Ladas sold in Canada. In Russia there was even a rotary engined Samara as well as 4×4 and turbo variants.

original ad

body good
runs good
will need out of province inspection
open to offers or trades for car with automatic transmission

This entry was posted in Found For Sale on the Internet - eBay, craigslist, etc and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Austin Atlantic A90 and Lada Sagona on Kijiji

  1. David says:

    I didn’t know ‘Sagona’ was a brand name in Canada. Weren’t they all Samaras?

    • oldcarjunkie says:

      From what I understand the four door sedan was a Sagona even in Canada but it is hard to nail down exact info on this sort of thing. Could be dealers referred to them one way and they were registered officially another.

  2. Peter says:

    Hi-Any chance of getting a contact for the Atlantic. Thanks.Peter

    • oldcarjunkie says:

      Sorry, the ad seems to be gone now.

    • Roy says:

      Hi Peter,
      I purchased the Austin Atlantic in the picture above earlier this year. Anything you want to know about it?

      Roy

      • richard michael says:

        hi roy, yes you brave man, im curious about the split screen. if you need bits contact me, btw,where are you? rgds, richard

      • Roy says:

        Hi Richard. Sorry about the delay, for some reason the site didn’t send me a notification email for activity. Anyhow, I had noticed the split screen as well, since I’ve heard some of the earlier prototypes had split screens however there is no other evidence to suggest it was a prototype, other than the front glass is in two pieces, there isn’t even a frame piece or seal between the two pieces so I’m not sure what is going on there. I’d definitely take you up on that offer for parts though, it looks like we are going to need all the help we can get with this one, especially interior plastics etc. I’m located just South of Calgary, Alberta [Canada]. Maybe send me an email if you can: roysaunderson@hotmail.com

        Thanks,

        Roy

      • Peter hackney from Australia says:

        Roy-October 18th 2013- Hope this gets toyou. I have lost some files, so if you can respond to phackney@ozemail.com.au It would be appreciated. Thanks-Peter

  3. Roy says:

    Hi Richard. Sorry about the delay, for some reason the site didn’t send me a notification email for activity. Anyhow, I had noticed the split screen as well, since I’ve heard some of the earlier prototypes had split screens however there is no other evidence to suggest it was a prototype, other than the front glass is in two pieces, there isn’t even a frame piece or seal between the two pieces so I’m not sure what is going on there. I’d definitely take you up on that offer for parts though, it looks like we are going to need all the help we can get with this one, especially interior plastics etc. I’m located just South of Calgary, Alberta [Canada]. Maybe send me an email if you can: roysaunderson@hotmail.com

    Thanks,

    Roy

  4. Peter hackney from Australia says:

    Hi Roy-Just in case you didn’t get my e-mail, my contact is phackney@ozemail.com.au

  5. Thomas says:

    The Lada pictured is a Samara sedan. The Sagona was a 4 door Samara with a body kit and different velour fabric interior.

  6. Martin Pither says:

    I am considering putting my 1950 Austin A90 Atlantic convertible up for sale in the UK. Let me know if you are interested?

Leave a Reply

