New project – 1981 Datsun 210

I’ve found myself a new project – its a 1981 Datsun 210. A fairly unremarkable car to almost all people but I quite like them for reasons unknown. My parents had a ’78 Datsun 510 and my aunt had a Datsun Sunny in yellow similar to this one. They are one of the last rear drive compacts to be sold. The Corolla, Hyundai Pony and Chevette/Acadian where sold later. Its a 1.2L, 4spd, base model car. Rubber floor mats and no arm rests. I doubt there is a single option on it. With being a two door sedan I wonder if it was cheapest trim of 210 sold. I was told it likely had a new clutch and needed a starter. I repaired the starter and it runs but looks like it in fact needs a clutch. The parts are cheap so next time I go through the US I’ll pick up a clutch kit.

Getting towed home.

1981 Datsun 210 getting towed

Dusty interior

1981 Datsun 210 dash

Mighty A-series four cylinder engine in 1981 Datsun 210. The engine is derived from the old BMC A-series (think MG Midget, Morris Minor, Mini, etc). Needs a good clean but oil is clean. Seems to run well but looks to be the 75.4cid version which would make it the smallest 1.2L engine I guess.

1981 Datsun 210 Engine

cleaned the inside

Interior cleaned - 1981 Datsun 210

Cleaned out the trunk – pretty much rust free with just a hint of surface rust in the spare wheel well.

Cleaned trunk - 1981 Datsun 210

The rear seat was loose so I thought what the heck I’ll clean it up a bit. Years of dirt.

Rear seat area before - 1981 Datsun 210 Rear seat area cleaned - 1981 Datsun 210

This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New project – 1981 Datsun 210

  1. Pingback: Book a manual | Old Car Junkie

  2. ROMMY ORTIZ says:

    i like to buy this car if you sale it . my first car that my parents bought me was a 210 1982 and im trying to find one. if interest it email me. thanks

Leave a Reply

