Lethbridge Vintage Auto Swap Meet 2009

Ah the annual, early Lethbridge vintage auto swap meet. Held in February to give us car guys something see in the winter months. Almost all the parts were for American cars 60s and older so I didn’t manage to snag any good parts for any of my projects but I did have a great book find. East European Cars by Julian Nowill – I’ve had an alerting eBay search for this book for at least two years – only one came up and it sold for over $100. Too rich for my blood so when I spotted it for $15 I snagged it without even negotiating a couple dollars off. I haven’t had a chance to read it yet but a flip through looks promising with lots of interesting rarely seen cars. I also scored small stack of 50s and 60s sports and foreign car magazines for a grand total of $4. Sometimes its good to live in hot rod and truck country.

There were several projects and restored cars for sale inside. Highlights were this 1928 Chevrolet (and a parts car too)

1929 Ford Model A Roadster

Edsel Ranger – I can’t remember the last time I saw a 2 dr Edsel. Looks rather good actually – quite a bit better than the 4dr version.

1965 Ford Fairlane 500 Sports Coupe – it was a real beauty. The yellow dash was a great touch too. Was for sale for $8k – more than reasonable given the condition.

and the highlight for me of course was a decent looking British Ford Zephyr. I dared not ask the price since I’m already over quota on project cars.

A crazy customized 1974 Chevrolet El Camino that I’ve seen before was on offer too.

Snowy and cold today so not too much interesting in the parking lot this year but here is a few

Rambler Ambassador 880 Station Wagon

1953 Ford F-100

Poor Mercury Capri II out in the weather

This entry was posted in Shows and Events and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

